What Is Tantra Yoga? It Is Not What You Think

It is way different from pretending to be illuminated.

Hakima T A N T R I K A
ILLUMINATION

--

Image by ImYanis from Shutterstock

When I completed my intense Tantra Yoga Teacher Training, I didn't have the most joyful experience returning home. I was sad, missing nature and rainbows. It was raining and cold, and my new apartment lacked natural sunlight. I had to go back to work; back into the stressful and busy city life of Tokyo. In a word, I was depressed.

I reached out to a friend and shared my feelings, and my state of mind. Surprisingly, this was her answer:

“How are you going to be a good Tantra teacher when you are like this? It’s very hypocritical. It doesn’t show sincerity. It’s fake. That’s not yoga or Tantra”.

I took a few breaths in and out, observing her remarks and understanding the beliefs hidden behind her message. At first, I felt sad for the misconception. But, my sadness soon switched to gratitude.

I felt grateful for the opportunity to explain the core of Tantra.

I felt grateful for the reminder of why I chose Tantra!

She opened up a door that allowed me to remember the core of this ancient wisdom. Returning to a calm state of consciousness, I replied:

“Thank you for your comment. First of all, Yoga teachers…

--

--

Hakima T A N T R I K A
ILLUMINATION

Scholar-practitioner of Classical Tantra with 15 years' experience, Founder of the School of Quantum Tantra for conscious leaders www.schoolofquantumtantra.com