The Family Man

Keith R Wilson
Curated Newsletters
7 min readAug 5, 2020

--

Mother And Father With Their Eight Children In Chicago’s South Side Ghetto, 07/1973 by John White, The U.S. National Archives

It’s hard to know what to do when you gots a fambly. It’s even hard to know when it’s good to get yourself shot. I was fixen to kill myself a month ago, but everythin’ I wanted, I got it right now ’cause I got me a fambly.

I got a woman and eight chirdren. They weren’t mine to start with. They belonged to another man, but he got took off to jail and a second man come and took his place. He made a few more chirdren ’til the first man come back and let himself in through the front door. The second man say, “what you doin’ in my house?” The first man say, “This ain’t your house, it’s mine, and that woman you’re layin’ up with is my woman.” The second man say, “you’re wrong, they’re all mine now,” and he made some holes in him. So the first man go in the grave, the second man go to the prison the first man just come from, and the women is left alone with all her chirdren. That’s when I come along and got me a fambly.

There’s four boys and four girls. I can’t remember all their names, but there’s the boys and the girls. I got all the girls in one room and all the boys in th’other. I got a TV for each of their rooms, but I only run cable into the girls’ room. The boys got so mad they rush into the girls’ room and kick them out. I say, “OK, I’ll get you cable for you boys, too. You wait a minute, now.” So I got a splicer and put cable in the boys’ room for them to look at, too.

--

--