ID 914120 © Dawn Hudson | Dreamstime.com

The Follow-Me Game On Medium

Sorry, I’m not gonna play

Jeff Hanlon
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2020

--

I’m a relative newbie here, but I’ve recently noticed a strong and sustained uptrend in my number of followers.

I’m sure it’s because of my stellar writing.

Not.

It used to be if someone followed me, I’d just follow back, no questions asked, including not asking the question, “Why the hell are you following me?”

But I’m sure that as many grizzled Medium vets already know, many of these people aren’t following me because they care about me or my writing. They are following me for one reason, and one reason only — to sucker me into following them back and racking up their follower count. And they’ll never read a single word I write.

Now when I check out my new ‘followers’ the first red flag is that they have a gazillion followers. Do I really think they’re ever going to read a word of what I write?? The second red flag is that they write about stuff I have absolutely no interest in. So why would I assume they’d have any interest in stuff I I write about?

I do not, and will not follow-back these collectors of followers.

They are hustlers. They are follower greedheads, interested only in accumulation of meaningless numbers.

--

--

Jeff Hanlon

Jeff Hanlon lives on the shores of the Caribbean where he spends his days in shorts and sandals making stuff up.