The Foundation of Tall Buildings is strong, but not visible.

Prasanna Kumar Behera
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readMay 9, 2022

It is a story of proclaiming education.

Ali never missed visiting the house of his customer in the last 25 years during Eid. Ali was not a businessman. He visits his customer’s house to wish, Eid Mubarak, not for self-interest, but to gift his customer a small packet of thin rice noodles. As he opened the gate, the boy inside the house, called his father.
“Baba, uncle Ali has come.“
“ Ask uncle to sit on the sofa, I am in the bathroom”, replied his father.
“ Please be seated, Ali Uncle. Why did you come after a long time? “
Ha, ha. I am old now. How can I come frequently?
No uncle, you are the same as you are before 20 years. I still remember you used to tie the lace of my shoes while going to school. You used to lift me and make me seated on the seat of your Rickshaw.
“Do you still remember chotobabu? How is your elder brother?”
“ Dada has gone to Bangalore for his Post Doctorate.”
No, it will not be in my understanding, replied Ali. I didn’t go to school after class five. But is he well?
“Yes, uncle. I will call you next time he comes.”
I am waiting for his marriage ceremony, laughed Ali.

As Babu came, Ali stood up from the sofa and wished Babu “ Eid Mubarak Babu “
“Eid Mubarak, Ali. I had been to your house today morning. You were not there. I met your daughter-in-law and son. They said Abu was going to market. Are you still going to work at this age?”
“No, Babu. My sons have strictly asked me not to pull a rickshaw anymore. So I have stopped pulling Rickshaw for the last three years, since the day of my sons’ marriage. And my sons pay me more than what I could have earned from rickshaw pulling daily.
“What are your sons doing now?”
My eldest son works as a small contractor and undertakes all types of civil repairing jobs in an industrial area, employing 5 more people with him. He pays me a lump amount of INR 500–1000 in a fortnight for my expenses. He got married 3 years back and has a girl child of 2 years old. She is my princess now. He buys all monthly rations for our whole composite family.
The second son works as a residential electrician to repair any electrical problems, and makes a daily earning of INR 300–500, out of which, he gives me INR 30–50 daily for my expenses. He got married last year and expecting a baby soon.
And the third son got married just three months back. He has joined a factory and gets INR 10000 a month. He also gives me INR 500 a month once he gets his monthly wages. So all are capable now.
“How is your wife?”
Oh! She is very good, Babu. I am really happy with her. Not only me but she is also liked by all people on our street. She is in demand always as she undertakes the ritual of dressing up the dead bodies in our community. Allah bless her always. She has never been ill, as I remember.
“Does she ask for any money for this?”
Never, babu. She is happy with whatever she gets. She never asks for any fees for that. But she spends the same money for the purpose of Allah.
“Have you quarreled with your wife any time?” Asked babu, with a smile.
Ha, ha! Why should I? Oh yes, maybe twice or thrice, when my kids were small.
“What for? “
“ If I come late in the night after long-distance hiring.”
“ No fight for the last three or five years?”
Can’t remember, babu.
“But, won’t you be idle as your body parts may become immovable if you don’t work now at least for some time? “
I am 67 years old now. I have pulled Rickshaw for 47 years since I attained 18. Now my elder son asks me to stay at home, read Namaz, 5 times a day, and do only household shopping at the local vegetable market.
“Are you happy staying with all three sons, their families, and your family in the same house? “
Very much babu. That’s why I and my elder son constructed that three-storied building for the other two sons’’ families also. I stayed on the ground floor with my elder son and his family. Our old one-room old house on the ground floor is still there along with a separate room for the elder son.
By Allah’s grace, I am lucky, babu.

Do you know one funny thing? I purchased 12 Raj Bhog sweets ( big size sweet cheese balls ) for 9 members of our family three days back, one for each and three extras for any guest expected as it is the month of Ramadan and for my middle son who is a foodie.
When I returned home after the namaz in the evening, I saw all 12 sweets are consumed. I had wished to get one sweet, but, after seeing the sweet pot empty, I told my wife that I had sweets at my friend’s house, so I don’t want any more Raj Bhog and let anybody eats it.
My middle son was listening perhaps on the first floor. Suddenly he came down running, held me tight, and cried.
“ Abu, please pardon me. I have eaten all three Raj Bhog and forgot to keep them for you. “
Ha, ha! Why do you feel so? I got extras, only for you. Never mind. “

“You are really lucky to be blessed with sons like these, Ali.
How are your daughters-in-law? “
Babu, they are too good.
“Do they quarrel among themselves? I saw them without Burkhas.” I just joked.
No babu, all three are like three sisters as if came from one family. They make fun, sing, and read namaz together. They are very liberals and respect me a lot. They never eat before I reach home any time, if late. They are like three daughters now as I had no daughters.
“Ali, I am really surprised, how you do remember and come to us every Eid and never missed a single year.”
How can I forget, babu? Have you forgotten the past? I was in charge of decoration, arranging all the flowers, decorating Maa Durga with China Rose and Lotus flowers every year you celebrated Durga Puja in this house. I have all the white dresses stored till now you gifted me in all Durga Puja festivals.
Maa( he calls my wife maa ) also had gifted many sarees to my wife every year during puja. Now Maa is not there and also the Puja. My wife cries at times when she remembers the past when you both took my youngest son to the hospital and cured him.
“Your hairs are grey now. Your dress is also white. Do you like the white colour like me nowadays?”
Yes, babu. White means no color. It is like simple living. No more burdens. No more desires for diffrent colours. No desire means no sorrow. We came to earth empty-handed. And when we leave this earth, we must go to Him empty-handed without any regrets or burdens. If we possess nothing while death, we can die peacefully without having fear of losing any possessions. That’s what I am practicing now till death. I am not educated you know.
I came to invite you to the Iftar party, babu, which our family is hosting today evening in our local mosque. Will it be possible for you to attend?
I know, Ali. That’s why I visited your house this morning itself as I am going to my friend’s house today evening for some social function. I will definitely visit next year. I promise.
I must have to live until next year, babu. He laughed.
He blessed again chhotobabu before leaving our house.
We can never forget him who had carried both the brothers in his rickshaw to school for ten years and never demanded any extra money for his services than what we paid.

It was an hour’s drive to reach my friend’s place which was almost 25 kilometers away from my house. He is actually 5 years senior to me, but very friendly. To the best of my knowledge, his family is one of the most qualified families, himself being a master’s degree holder in technology and has educated his two children to the level of Ph.D. While the son works as a professor in the USA, the daughter works in Canada as Vice President in a reputed bank. Both are married and settled. Financially my friend is very sound and doesn’t need any financial help from anybody.
It was a new address he shifted to last month only. Through the GoogleMap, I asked the driver to take me there, but Google Maps dropped me at the back gate of the 10 storied building.
The security allowed me to enter the building after a request as they allow only through the front main gate. When I asked the apartment number of my friend, security guided me to the lift and asked me to go to 9 the floor. As I called him from the house phone, he had kept his door open when I reached.
It was a two-roomed apartment. The front one was the drawing-cum-dining with sofas, tea kettle, oven, and the TV. The side one was the bedroom with two single beds in ‘L’ shape with a cabinet for storage of our clothes.
It was a simple apartment with all the basic amenities. One uniformed nurse was there to take care.
“What is this apartment, brother? I asked my friend-cum-brother.”
Ha, ha. It is an old age home of five-star quality. Later he took me to the deck on the 10th floor for an amazing city view and showed me the cafe, massage room, mini cinema hall, and swimming pool. We went to the park where only couples were busy in gossip and silent love while a few were on an evening walk. The couples were all 70+. Few singles were there in the clubhouse busy with playing cards and evening tea.
I found a few adults also visiting the building with their imported European cars.

My friend prepared tea for us while his wife was in the bedroom on a bed. Now she is unable to walk due to knee pain.
Why did you shift here, from that big four-bedded
apartment?”
We were unable to maintain ourselves and that big house. We are two people, felt lonely there. Hence we got shifted to this old age home. We need not do anything here and also get medical support 24x7. Somebody is here to take care of us.
Why don’t you shift to the USA or Canada and stay with your children and grandchildren?
Ha, ha. They don’t have time. Once we had been there. We felt we are a burden to them. The world runs after money now. Of course, we miss the grandchildren.
After the tea, my friend asked me what my children are doing. I said one is doing a Ph.D. while the other is joining a University in Europe as a professor soon.

After listening to the real story of my friend, many thoughts disturbed me. Was the knowledge of my friend and mine real or proclaimed? Is it true education?

No. Perhaps Ali had a real education.

glossary:

Babu- all government officers are called babu in South Asian countries

abu- father

baba-father

--

--

Prasanna Kumar Behera
ILLUMINATION

A soul , who wants to learn the real knowledge , develop self and help other souls. For more details - www.prasannabehera.com. Believes in religion of humanity.