The Free Self-Care Activities that You Can Make Space for in Your Life

Simple practices for a happier, healthier you…

Rosa Diaz-Casal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Photo by Min An: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-on-brown-stone-near-green-leaf-trees-at-daytime-1234035/

Self-care doesn’t have to be complicated or expensive. The truth is that we already have everything we need for self-care within us. Tapping into that doesn’t have to cost us a dime.

Go on a journaling picnic outdoors. You will be surrounded by nature and in a different headspace.

There are compounds called phytoncides that are emitted by plants, especially trees. These are part of a plant’s natural defense mechanism against microbes. There is research to suggest that these compounds can also benefit human physiology both mentally and physically and maybe even our immune system.

In my journaling, I love to make gratitude lists. But lately, I’ve started to make a ‘future gratitude list’. These are things that are not yet part of my reality but will hopefully be in the future. By already expressing gratitude for these things, it helps me feel like I’m already used to having them and its already part of my reality. It’s just a little simple exercise I like to do from time to time.

Take a rain forest shower. Turn down the lights in your bathroom and turn on some rain forest soundscapes and ambient noises. You can go to YouTube and search up “rain…

--

--