Thinking | Reflection

The Golden Age of Stupidity has …

… not ended

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2021

--

Photo by Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

I am not intelligent. I hope I am not stupid.

I love speaking to people. Individuals come with their own set of beliefs. Some of those have been crystallized in their minds as part of knowledge acquisition. A small fraction of those beliefs are backed by foundations as strong as sand.

These are the conversations that provoke laughter, not because I am cynical. They make me laugh because they expose me to a world beyond my imagination.

For one, I have people around me who believe that lightning is a consequence of higher entities getting angry. We have sinned, and therefore we will be punished.

Hmm.

I find that interesting because getting punished for anger provocation is two separate matters. By that, I mean: -

  • Provoking anger.
  • Having the power to penalize others.

I believe in God and higher entities. There is an ethical ethos to our existence in this world. God is there to point us toward enlightenment, so we can up the ante and be a better person.

That is wildly different from having the ability to punish those who have sinned.

--

--

Aldric Chen
ILLUMINATION

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.