"The happiest, terrifying day of my life."

Feed-o
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2024
Image created by the author

In 2017, I broke my finger while practicing for a sport that I had never played before. Every year an annual sports competition was held by the school.

There were two teams for handball:

→Red (mine)

→Yellow

I or anyone in my team had never played that sport. In India, we only enjoy cricket! There's less room for any other sport to catch attention. So, two teams were made, and I was captain of the red team.

We started practicing for the game 5-6 days before the match. We didn't know anything about it. I wanted to win because I was captain for the first time, good god! I used to ask our sports teacher and search rules online.

Most of the nerds in the class were part of red. So it was tougher. The yellow team also had no clue about the sport but they were athletic. They used to play sports. And my team got detached from books for the first time in their life. I mean there were 2-3 dudes who were not good in study which ultimately resulted that they were good in sports.

It was winter, we were practicing around 8 am, the ball went high and I was trying to resist it from touching the ground.

Seriously I was not a nerd, trust me!

The ball hit my middle finger and there's one thing I remember after that was the ‘school clinic’. I really wanted to play because you know I was captain for the first time. As soon as I got home, I went to the doctor with my pain in the finger which was getting worse and worse.

I didn't explain the doctor the whole situation because I didn't want him to put plaster on my finger or anything else. I asked for painkillers. The doctor was irresponsible enough to leave a 15-year-old boy with a broken finger, giving some painkillers.

I reached home, hid it from everyone, and started practicing again. After a while, the pain was going downwards. We started playing bad from worse.

Match Day:⬇️⬇️⬇️⬇️

The main day is here guys! We were fully prepared to save our respect and lose by the least margin possible.

Here’s the funny part: there were three matches that day, with the other two being postponed.

So the entire school was there to witness the professional handball game we were about to play. People supporting yellow were cheering for them and people supporting us were also cheering.

I noticed that our supporters made some slogans which would definitely hit the ego of the yellow. So I was getting more scared because already we were a team full of vitamin-D deficient and these slogans would definitely be hurting the ego of their team.

The game started, I remembered within 5 minutes of the game starting I scored the first goal of the match. The crowd went crazy.

My team was not happy but surprised. So they showed mixed feelings. And for sure I was over the moon. Because the best athlete in the entire world with the most healthy middle finger has scored a goal within 5 minutes of the game.

The match ended! We won the match 3-0. One of the team players scored 2 goals. So this was a story of ‘nerd wizards and their kidney stones’.

Anyway, we won the match and we were happy because some of the guys had never played a sport before. They did their best and got the results.

Thank you for listening to my short and kind of funny story. Check out some of my previous posts.

--

--