Photo by Ann on Unsplash

The heavy dinosaur: Unexpected help from a stranger when you least expect it!

Arati Shinde
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Chapter 1: Just Strangers

For the first time in my life, my heart is filled with this much gratitude. As I write this article, my hand might have three-fourths moist tissues. Growing up, we tend to take things for granted, our routines become mechanical, and we stop appreciating whatever comes our way.

This is the everyday life of you and me. How the universe or God places people on our path for help may sound cliché, but please hear me out.

Six months ago, I purchased a microwave from a second-hand online market. On the platform, it seemed nice, clean, and with the basic features to serve its purpose. When I went to collect it, I hadn’t considered its weight. Oh, boy! It was really heavy. I lift weights up to 10–15kg, but the microwave was heavier. I had taken the bus, and luckily, the bus stop was right in front of the handover location. I thought, “I can manage this.” The 10-minute journey went smoothly, but when I got off at the nearest stop, about 250 meters from my house, reality hit.

If you’ve read this far, I want to admit that I overestimated my capability. I should have asked a friend for help. I walked almost 10 meters with the heavy dinosaur and realized I definitely needed help, or else I would have to leave the bulky microwave on the street. However, the rules in the country I live in don’t allow leaving electronics in the garbage or on the street.

While I was thinking all this, suddenly help appeared. The twist is that my helper didn’t know how to speak English, and I didn’t know his mother tongue. He was a very elderly man who took the microwave bag from my hand and started walking with me. Instinctively, I said no, it’s not polite for me to make him lift, but he didn’t listen. He placed the bag in front of my apartment building. As any civilized human would, I offered him coffee, but he had plans to go somewhere. I asked him where he lived in the city, the basic conversation we all have. He said the street next to mine. I thought to myself, sure, then maybe in the future.

While leaving, he said something in his mother tongue three-four times. I asked him to write it on my mobile. When I came to my apartment, the first thing I did was keep the dinosaur at the door. I translated his words: “Look after yourself! If you don’t, no one will., and if someone is offering help with their genuine intention to help, take it! Young lady.”

It’s been over six months since this incident, and I haven’t crossed paths with this man a single time. I am always out, walking here and there. Still, no! The universe or God just sends people on your way to help you out or teach you a lesson. Do you think every encounter is already planned?

--

--