The History of the Korean Language

SerenoWaves
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2023

How the young language came into existence…O_O

Statue of King Sejong the Great (image credits to Pixabay)[https://pixabay.com/da/photos/sejong-kongen-af-korea-seoul-korea-5061668/]

I’ve always been fascinated by the Korean language. I first started learning it a year ago. I was immediately drawn to its unique sounds and grammar.

Since then, I’ve been slowly learning Korean on my own. It’s been a challenging but rewarding process. I’ve learned a lot about Korean culture and history along the way.

One of the things that I find most interesting about the Korean language is its history. It’s a relatively young language, but it has a rich and complex history.

The earliest known records of the Korean language date back to the 5th century AD. These records are written in Chinese characters, but they also contain some phonetic elements that suggest that a Korean writing system was already in use at the time.

In the 15th century, King Sejong the Great of Korea invented the Hangul writing system. Hangul is a phonetic system that is very easy to learn and use. It is also very efficient, and it can be used to represent all of the sounds of the Korean language.

Hangul is one of the most unique features of the Korean language. It is a very regular system, and it is easy to learn to read and write. This has made it a very popular language for learning, and it is now one of the most widely spoken languages in Asia.

In addition to Hangul, the Korean language also uses Chinese characters. Chinese characters are used to write many Korean words, especially those that are related to Chinese culture or history. However, Chinese characters are not used as extensively as they used to be, and they are now mostly used by scholars and in formal writing.

I’m still learning Korean, but I’m making progress. I’m excited to continue learning this beautiful and expressive language. I hope that one day I will be able to speak Korean fluently.

If you’re interested in learning Korean, I encourage you to give it a try. It’s a rewarding language to learn, and it’s a great way to connect with Korean culture.

I’ve also started a Medium profile where I write about my experiences learning Korean. If you’re interested, you can follow me there.

Thanks for reading!

Serenowaves

◇─◇──◇─◇◇─◇──◇─◇◇─◇──◇─◇◇─◇──◇─◇◇─◇──◇─◇◇─◇

--

--

SerenoWaves
ILLUMINATION

Sangita: Exploring Korean. Join me on a journey of language discovery. <3<3<3