The Inspiration For My Manuscript

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2024

“It’s choice not chance that determines your destiny”_ Jean Nidetch

Photo by Danica Tanjutco on Unsplash

The belief: "I was born for this." has never quite sat well with me. I suspect this has something to do with what Mark Manson suggests in his book_ The Subtle Art of Not Giving a fuck: "We imagine our importance and invent our purpose."

While I acknowledge that both premises are flawed in different capacities, I find the latter much more practical in that; it leaves room for discussion and most importantly, it suggests that whatever happens is under my influence with regard to the choices I make and the destinies I create as a result.

In the same breath, the premise_We imagine our importance and invent our purpose leaves room for exploring and having an adventure. Which speaks to what life is: A playground where we can wear whichever costume we like and choose because we are only here_on earth_ for a short while and making the most out of our existence is the least we can do. If at all we are to justify and view the significance of our inevitable death wearing our objective glasses.

That being said, I don’t think I was born to be a writer or author. So even when I randomly but intentionally decided to write a book, I wasn’t like " Hell yeah! I was born to do this." I was more like: "OK, let’s see how this goes."

That ladies and gentlemen, is how I imagined my life as an author is important and meaningful to the world.

Since then, I have the perception that writing a memoir is my purpose in life.

Granted, I could be so wrong, but I could also be so right. Either way, I’m willing, excited, and curious to find out. After all is said and done, isn’t that the whole point of having an adventure? and living a rich life? Well, for me it is.

All this to say, in my eulogy, I’d love to be remembered as someone who left a dent in people’s lives by telling positively impactful stories inspired by true life events through the words I pen down on pages and bind into books.

Thanks for reading this far.

Find me on; Instagram and X.

--

--

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION

Hey 👋 there & welcome!! I mostly pen down Personal essays, Poems & Memoirs wrapped up with traces of humor, sadness, and wtf moments.