The Inspiring Stories of 5 Famous Icons Who Turned Failure into Fuel

Spark Within You
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2023

Failure is an inevitable part of our life, But how we take up that failure is a more important one.

Let us have famous failures great people encountered and their way of handling these failures.

Thomas Eidson

He failed over 1,000 times before successfully inventing the lightbulb.

Image by WikiImages from Pixabay

He said — I have not failed once. I have succeeded in proving that those 10,000 ways will not work.

He viewed each failure as bringing him closer to finding a solution that worked.

J.K.Rowling

Her original Harry Potter book was rejected by 12 publishers before finally being accepted.

Image by Aline Berry from Pixabay

She has said “Failure meant a stripping away of the inessential. I stopped pretending to myself that I was anything other than what I was, and began to direct all my energy to finishing the only work that mattered to me.”

J.K. Rowling dealt with depression and adversity while writing Harry Potter. She kept persevering through constant rejection

Michael Jordan

He was cut from his high school basketball team before going on to become an NBA legend with 6 championships and 5 MVP awards.

He said “I have missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I have lost almost 300 games. On 26 occasions I have been entrusted to take the game-winning shot, and I missed. I have failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”

Michael Jordan used his failure to motivate himself to train harder than anyone else.

Walt Disney

He was fired by a newspaper editor for lacking imagination. He also went bankrupt several times before building the Disney empire.

Image by 652234 from Pixabay

He said, “We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”

Walt Disney embraced failure, he never gave up on his dreams.

Albert Einstein

He did not speak until age 4 and didn’t read until age 7. His early teachers said he would never amount to anything.

Image by Welcome to All ! ツ from Pixabay

He said, “A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.”

He believed that mistakes pave the way forward, He focused on learning from errors.

The journeys of these iconic figures show us that failure is not the end

It is just the beginning.

Their stories teach us to embrace our mistakes and use them as motivation to grow.

Failure is a chance to shed what doesn’t work and focus on our true passions.

So the next time you face failure, remember you’re in good company.

Let it strengthen your resolve, not break your spirit. Use it as fuel to propel yourself forward.

Keep failing, keep growing, and keep rising.

Thanks for reading.

--

--