The Last Time I Sang

Why I Stopped Singing.

SpongeBob
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJul 16, 2023

--

Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash
Me In An Alternate Universe?

When I was 15, like everyone around me, I started exploring my hobbies and abilities. Motivated by the passion to succeed, I tried dancing, but the twisted ankle was enough for me to say no. The next on my list was singing.

It was definite to say I wasn’t gifted, but still, I couldn’t help but record demos of myself on my android and send them to my friends, something at which we laugh as of now.

Of course, they were supportive, which I have to admit is either ignorance on their side or mine.

Nevertheless, I was determined to improve, and because American Idol was not an option, my only resolve was the Music Society at my school.

Photo by Allec Gomes on Unsplash

My hands laminated in sweat, I sat on the small stool in the middle of the room. Seniors all around me, the air covered in cold, thick silence, as I sang a cover of ‘Wrecking Ball’ By Miley Cyrus for them. Suddenly, the floor and walls looked so beautiful.

Though I promised myself, the nerves really made me put up a fight that day as I found myself somewhat crying rather than displaying my vocal abilities.

And that’s when lightning struck. Shock coated all my features as I read through the bulletin board the next morning, containing the list of the shortlisted candidates. I was one of the two people who got selected from my grade. I still believe they pitied me or something.

The following day, I was pulled out in the middle of class to audition for a school event where singing was required. The assigned teacher summoned me to her room and her first question was “How did you get selected?”, To which I found no answer.

Nonetheless, they proceeded with me and soon the dreadful day arrived. I found myself in front of about 400 people, fidgeting my feet, waiting for my moment to shine.

Photo by Barry Weatherall on Unsplash

Everyone looked so small from here. My friends, my teachers, my crush. I repeated all the motivational phrases I had memorized the night before, alongside the occasional regret for not being able to refuse.

As the spotlight blanketed me, it was time to sing. Let’s just say I displayed something similar to singing. We won’t bully 15-year-old me today. All the faces in front of me that day simply cease to exist in my memory, replaced by the exact shade of the stage.

As I was in the middle of my vocal glory, I heard a few giggles here and there. Still, I kept my cool and was proud that I at least finished without having to puke in the middle of my debut.

As soon as the nightmare was over, I rushed backstage to the room overlooking the audience. Grateful to God, the door was tainted with a small hole, which directly projected me my crush’s face, whose reaction I was desperate to see. 'Did he like it?’, He had to like it. But what I saw was far from the truth.

I saw him tittering with his friends while mocking the way my hands shook as I held the mike. I was a joke.

And then it didn’t matter that everyone laughed anymore, nor that I was starting to love singing.

That’s the first time my heart broke, and the last time I sang.

--

--