LOCKDOWN LIFE

The Life-Changing Magic of…Mascara

What lockdown has taught me about self-care

Em Unravelling
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2020

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Before we all got banished to sit out Covid-19 in our houses, tucked away from the world in our nests, I had a very specific weekday morning post-shower routine. Towel-clad, I’d pop in my contact lenses, so I could actually see myself, and then I’d begin.

First, unguents. (I’m a devoted fan of an overpriced serum, and let it never be said that I’d forget a decent slathering of SPF). Then, hair. (Mine’s a pathetic excuse for hair, really – it’s baby-fine and very blonde, neither use nor ornament, but it still needs taming). Next, clothes. Usually a skirt suit, a fitted dress or a trousers-and-blouse combo; whatever, it would always involve high heels. Finally, with all the unguents absorbed tackily into my face at last, I’d meander back to the bathroom, heels clacking, ready for the makeup stage.

Pre-concealer. Concealer. Foundation. Powder. Blusher. Eyeshadow, two shades (darker on the crease; lighter on the brow bone). Brow pencil. Brow wax. Eyeliner. Mascara. Lipstick. Spritz of scent: wrist, wrist, ear, ear.

--

--

Em Unravelling
ILLUMINATION

Lover of words, books, hiking, nature and big skies. Running is my favourite thing (after the words & the books). As feisty as I need to be.