The Lost Art of Letting Your Mind Wander

Erik Ruof
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2021

--

Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

Recently I had a shower thought about thinking in the shower. Sounds ridiculously meta but stay with me. Between the scrubbing maintenance and the collecting of shower water in my mouth like I’m some sort of hippo, I get some of my best thinking done. It could be the warm pitter-patter of hot droplets smacking the top of my head with every wash that excites the brain juices, but I’d rather think that it’s because shower time is a temporary mental retreat from everyday life.

I hardly believe that my mind has any time to relax in my daily life. There are sensory stimulants all around me that suffocate my subconscious. Even when I’m at rest, I make the conscious decision to pull out my phone and endlessly scroll as if it were a treadmill for my index finger. I’m on my phone even when I’m watching my favorite shows. Or what I thought were my favorite shows.

I’ve become uncomfortable with being bored and staring off at nothing in order to let my mind do what it does best: wondering how Bowser got so many kids. Like seriously, who “did it” with Bowser that many times? (I swear that I normally come up with better ideas than this.)

The fact of the matter is that I’m keeping my mind from wandering often enough that it is diluting my thoughts. Our conscious mind comprises what we call the rational part of our brain made up of the…

--

--

Erik Ruof
ILLUMINATION

Storyteller with an extensive list of passions and eccentric opinions. Short stories, hot takes, and pure stream of consciousness word vomit.