The Making of Butternut Squash Soup: A Story of Random Punctuation

Seeing the new in the normal

Keno Ogbo
ILLUMINATION

--

Love them, or hate them. ‘Commas’ and ‘fullstops’ are here to stay. What if we used them, but used them wrongly? Would we discover new meanings? A zing zang flow. Fun? A new way of writing sentences.

In this experiment, I wrote a short story about making Butternut Squash soup. Then I gave it a brand new look and flow. Most of my reworded story sucked, but within it, I found new gems, sentences I loved. I hope you find them too.

Punctuated Properly

The Making of Butternut Squash

I must have checked the recipe at least five times. Out of ten highly rated recipes returned by Google search, I selected one by Mary Berry, an acclaimed TV chef. It seemed simple enough, I scrolled whilst glancing through my kitchen cupboard.

What do I need? What do I have?

I had most things, except, perhaps the most important — Butternut Squash. I made a mental note to purchase it, but gazing out the window to a mist grey and dull. Not a day to be out. I sat and wrote instead.

The weather improved.

Within the hour, I had a Butternut Squash in my hands. The task before set, but it was impossible…

--

--

Keno Ogbo
ILLUMINATION

A stochastic writer, delving into life, tech and fiction. Writing from her West African background, she tackles old issues with a fresh perspective.