The Mind-Blowing Impact of Your Attitude

Steven Ramkissoon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2023

“The Mind-Boggling Power of Your Attitude: Unleashing its Cosmic Influence on the Fabric of Your Being”

Photo by Belle Co: https://www.pexels.com/photo/silhouette-photography-of-group-of-people-jumping-during-golden-time-1000445/

Indulge me, dear readers, in this account of an American restaurant manager — let’s call him David. David’s aura was always positive, and he had a knack for lifting the spirits of anyone who asked him how he was doing. He’d smile, “If I were any better, I’d be twins.” Such was his charm that when David changed jobs, many of his waitstaff followed him from restaurant to restaurant.

What was the secret of David’s allure, you may wonder? Simply put, he was a natural motivator. If an employee was having a tough day, David would swoop in with his infectious positivity and offer words of encouragement. I was fascinated by his leadership style and decided to ask him how he managed to stay upbeat all the time.

When he told me that every morning, he would wake up and say to himself, “I have two choices today: I can choose to be in a good mood, or I can choose to be in a bad mood.” I was skeptical of his claim. I constantly choose to be cheerful.” He went on to say that whenever something bad happened, he could chose to be a victim or learn from it. David was always the latter.

“But it’s not always that simple,” I protested.

“Yes, it is,” David replied firmly. “Life is all about choices. When you strip away all the noise, every situation boils down to a choice. You choose how you react to events. You choose how people affect your mood. You choose to live life with either a positive or negative outlook. It’s all up to you.”

Years passed, and I heard a tragic tale about David. While opening up his restaurant one morning in New York, David made a fatal error — he left the back door unlocked. Three armed robbers broke in and held him at gunpoint while demanding he open the safe. Nerves got the better of David, and his shaking hand slipped off the combination. The robbers panicked and fired their weapons, hitting David.

Miraculously, he survived the shooting, although with fragments of the bullets still lodged in his body. When I saw David six months after the attack, I asked him how he was doing. David’s response? “If I were any better, I’d be twins. Want to see my scars?” I declined, but I did ask him about what went through his mind during the robbery.

“The first thought that crossed my mind was that I should have locked the back door,” David said. “But then, as I lay there bleeding on the floor, I remembered that I had a choice — I could choose to live or to die. I chose to live.”

“Weren’t you scared?” I asked, impressed by his bravery.

“I was terrified,” David acknowledged. “The paramedics reassured me that I’d be fine, but when I was wheeled into the emergency room and saw the doctors’ and nurses’ expressions, I knew I had to act.” One of the nurses inquired if I had any allergies. I exclaimed, ‘Bullets.’ Everyone laughed, but I informed them that I had chosen to live and that they should treat me as if I were alive rather than dead.”

Photo by Kampus Production: https://www.pexels.com/photo/cheerful-ethnic-male-food-truck-waiter-standing-with-crossed-arms-5920774/

David survived the attack thanks to the skill of his doctors, but more importantly, his attitude played a significant role in his recovery. You see, dear readers, the one thing that no one can control or take from you is your attitude. David taught me that every day, we have a choice to either enjoy life or to hate it. And if we can take care of our attitude, everything else in life becomes much easier.

--

--

Steven Ramkissoon
ILLUMINATION

I'm passionate about writing on modern society, guiding individuals towards self-improvement, and helping them reach their full potential.