The Mind’s Eye: How to Harness the Power of Visualization to Help You Succeed

Why visualizing is essential for reaching your goals

Roshana Ariel
ILLUMINATION

--

AI image generated using prompts by the author at Midjourney.

Have you ever daydreamed about your ideal job, a perfect vacation, or winning the lottery? Then you’ve already dabbled in the power of visualization. While daydreaming may seem like a waste of time, research suggests that imagination could be one of the most potent tools we have for achieving our goals.

Every morning, I visualize my perfect life. I have a process I learned from a life coach. She calls it the Tree Magnetization Process. The leaves are the experiences I want to have. The tree trunk is an anchor statement that encompasses my ideal life. The roots are the emotions I wish to feel.

A drawing of the Tree Magnetization Process, where the leaves are experiences I want to have, the trunk is my anchor statement, and the roots are the emotions I want to feel.
Graphic produced by the author. Tree illustration by Rolandtopor | Dreamstime.com

My husband and I are thinking about moving to an intentional community where we’re friends with our close neighbors. We work together, play together, support each other, and get to know each other well.

I visualize these future friends who we’ll form deep connections with. I imagine working in a garden and tidying trails, playing music and laughing together, cooking and enjoying meals together. I…

--

--

Roshana Ariel
ILLUMINATION

I write about how to live life well even when it’s crazy or difficult. I’ve had lots of practice! As an editor, I love to rewrite my life to make it beautiful.