REFLECTIONS

The moment when “exploited” wins

Let the one who has lost everything win too

Kallol Mazumdar
ILLUMINATION

--

Power is a perceived construct.
No one owes anything in this world,
neither the resource they claim to have,
nor the body that they carry from stolen
nutrition that belonged to someone else.
There is no terrain for absolute power in
the modern matrix of power relations.
The world today is a mix of ideas
not cult personas who are larger than life
characters.

Yesterday, I was watching The Walking Dead, precisely season 7. And in the last episode, when Negan was about to kill Carl, Rick’s son, Ezikiel and his Kingdom arrived along with Carol and Morgan with his pet Tigress Shiva to save Alexandria (a settlement created in a post apocalyptic world where zombies remain and not many humans).

In a post apocalyptic zombie-infested world, the ones that managed to survive are scrambling for the few resources available to them. Long story short, Rick Grimes forms a gang in a post apocalyptic world, and in his quest for survival, he meets a few people along the way who become his family. He lost his wife, his best friend, to Zombies.

Rick now has an even bigger family to protect in Alexandria, and after a zombie attack in the settlement, they are scrambling for every last resource available on earth. In an attempt to get what they need, they encounter a guy while running for supplies called Jesus.

Jesus takes them to Hilltop, his current residence, where he has plenty of supplies. Rick came to an agreement with the folks that they would provide security to them in exchange for their goods. Until then, they were giving half of their supplies to the gang saviours. Rick asked them to reroute the supplies to him instead, to which the folks agreed.

As saviours till then had already done the nasty with Hilltop, Negan bashed the skull of one of the Hilltop folks, including a 14 year old boy. Rick and his gang take over the outpost of The Saviours, thinking that it would be the only outpost of The Saviours, but this was a trap laid out by Negan.

One of his gang members, Maggie, was having severe labour pains. Rick was in search for two of his gang members who were not returning after going for a run for supplies, he did not know they were being taken by Negan’s members. He went out for a search, eventually blocked out by Negan’s men from all sides.

He had to see two of his powerpacked fighters, Glenn and Abraham's, brains spill and thrashed, and to top it all, Maggie had to see her unborn child’s father die in that manner with her own eyes. Negan’s psychological tactics did not end there, he ordered Rick to cut his own son Carl’s hand, or else everyone from his gang would be executed. Fortunately, that did not happen. In this manner, Negan’s unwanted killings, sudden visits caused terror and havoc for Rick and his giant family.

During Rick’s joint plan that he devised with potential allies to kill Negan amidst one of Negan’s collection runs to get collections on time from Alexandria, they planned a hideout to take Negan out. One of the allies turned against him and was working with Negan instead. That time, Negan took over Alexandria and was about to execute Carl.

Another dissatisfied settlers of a place called ‘Kingdom’ led by King Ezikiel came and saved Alexandria. Two of Rick’s former members were part of ‘The Kingdom’. It was at this moment that I felt a sudden sense of relief and was supporting Rick with all my heart to get the saviours back and kill them all, especially Negan, who I thought was a pure nutcase/psychopath sociopath, etc. They did manage to push Negan out of Alexandria, and in later seasons, Negan will learn his lesson as well.

Its not like I supported Rick all out; he too was a killer in his own right, but the trauma Negan put Rick’s and his gang/family through was unbearable, inhumane, and sadly unjust.

Introspecting resonance, synergy and reciprocity

The idea of moral behaviour, which is often subjective in nature and has a lot of loaded religious tenets unlike ethical norms, I simply say to people, anything moral is any trait that a person or an individual thinks he deserves that is part of the generalised attributes of humanity or his or her dignified right to receive. Interestingly, the understanding of morality strengthens more with defining the ideas of immorality, or, as I say, anything immoral is any idea, value, or behaviour that you do not want to receive or do not want yourself to be associated with, discarding that, and what remains is the definition of morality.

While growing up, I have had instances where I protected my right to dignity in my own terms to stop the injustice. I was bullied a lot in school, especially in the younger grades. I was beaten by other kids, but after a few years, the bullying turned to verbal abuse, and then I started countering them with my anger, physical violence, and repulsion. It was a way of saying ‘enough is enough’ from my side.

Also, not all injustices happen on a peer level, my best friend’s father at the time always stated things that questioned my belonging to my community as a joke, and to counter him, I started name calling him in public. My best friend’s grandmother told me that’s bad behaviour, but I did it anyway.

We all find a way to connect with our deeper, more confident selves. No one should remain silent while watching injustice. You should learn to speak up for your sake. And most importantly, treat others in the same manner that you want to be treated.

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing alright. Finally, I was able to enrol in the Medium Partner Programme and thanks to you all for your constant support in this endeavour of mine, without your support reaching this stage wouldn’t be possible.

However despite enrolling the payout is still not supportable for my country, so technically I am part of it, but still cannot avail the benefits of it. hence if you can and are willing to, do consider sending me a tip; any amount is appreciated; it just helps me keep my motivation intact to write better, think better, and form ideas better. You can also support me by buying me a book. Irrespective of the assistance, thanks regardless for reading my piece!

Thanks a lot for taking some precious time out of your schedule to read my work. If you like it, you can read some of the other writeups I have linked below. You can also subscribe to my newsletter in case you want updates on my new posts. I hope you have a great day! Thanks for stopping by!!!

--

--

Kallol Mazumdar
ILLUMINATION

Writing to unfurl and deconstruct the deceptive cover laid out on my gaze. Let the flow of ideas illuminate a part of me and a whole lot of you. 🌺🌻💐🍂🤺