The Old Man is Snoring…

It’s raining, it’s pouring…

Darcy Thiel
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo Courtesy of Author

It’s been quite a week. Last Friday, I was talking to my dad who was experiencing some bleeding. I could tell by his voice and his willingness to go to an urgent care center that it was a significant amount and he was scared.

Sister Renee took him. I had tickets to the theater. (This obviously happened pre-pandemic.) I got a call that the doc was concerned about the amount of blood loss and wanted to send him by ambulance to the hospital.

I didn’t get there until after 11 pm. He was still in the ER but was preparing to move to a room. A little after midnight, Renee and I left once he was settled. My brother, Renee, and I all took turns each day staying with him.

I am the primary health advocate though so I usually ask all the questions.

On Saturday, they did a scope procedure on his esophagus. The doc came out and gave me the beautiful color photographs. Of course, I had no idea what I was even looking at. (See picture above.)

What I did understand, was there was not even a drop of blood. That meant starting prep for a colonoscopy the next morning.

If you have ever had one, you know that it is a nightmare.

--

--

Darcy Thiel
ILLUMINATION

What people say they appreciate most about me is my genuine nature. Check out my website at: www.darcythiel.com