Kari Nieves
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readDec 25, 2023

--

The ONE thing I did in the pandemic

Source: Pexels.com

I wrote this story during pandemic times back at the end of winter/early spring 2020. It was my first winter in New York.

Skip intro and go to story here.

I had to stay alone in a house away from everyone while New York was partially closed due to COVID-19. Art kept me alive; I did some singing, dancing, writing, and photography. That is one of the reasons why I love art so much; it kept me sane back then and away from bad habits, and it still does. I survived without my family and friends in that house for three months after traveling from my country to the United States. I was lucky I spoke good English back then since I was new in New York (my native language is Spanish).

Currently, I still live in New York, far away from all my loved ones. I miss them very much, especially during this Christmas season. Writing helps me cope with nostalgia and loneliness, as it always had. It is my best therapy and my cure for all “diseases”.

Coming back to the story, since New York was partially closed and I wasn’t working, I had a lot of time to spend on my own. I could take some long walks and explore my new neighborhood. One of those lonely days, I wrote this story.

I will start soon sharing with all of you more stories as part of my journey and life in New York City:

Today, I was tired

--

--

Kari Nieves
ILLUMINATION

Freelance English/Spanish digital content creator, blogger, passionate about New York, storyteller, photographer, systems engineer, entrepreneur. Colombian 🇨🇴