The ONLY Guide to Overcoming Procrastination (Trust ME*)

And this *Will Transform Your Life

Anthony C.
ILLUMINATION
8 min readAug 27, 2024

--

Procrastination is the silent killer of dreams. Everyone goes through that little nagging temptation to put something off until later or to wait until the last minute, or maybe tempt avoidance. It’s a universal struggle, but it doesn’t have to be a permanent one.

I still remember that procrastination nearly cost me an opportunity after having worked on it for many years. I just want to share this story with you, along with five proven techniques that might help loosen the grip procrastination has on you, as it did with me.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Understanding Procrastination

Before going into techniques, understand what procrastination really is and why it happens. Procrastination isn’t mere laziness or a lack of willpower; it’s more often than not an effect caused by fear, anxiety, and the urge to avoid discomfort. I always thought that I procrastinated because I was just naturally disorganized. The truth was that, within, I was scared: scared to fail, scared that I was not good enough, and scared of what could happen if I actually succeeded.

I still remember the time I was supposed to complete a project that could have taken my career to the next level. But instead of diving in, I found myself avoiding it at all costs.

I’d be saying to myself there’s plenty of time; I work better under pressure. But deep down, I knew that wasn’t true. The project would just sit there on my desk untouched while I busied myself with all sorts of less important business. Days turned into weeks, and before I knew it, the deadline was looming.

That’s the thing about procrastination; it just sneaks up on you.

It puts on the mask of harmless delays, yet it is a barrier that keeps you away from your potential. Realization of this truth was the first step toward getting over it. When I came to realize that procrastination was more about fears of mine rather than the abilities, only then was I able to start dealing with it head-on.

Following are five techniques that actually helped me and which I think you too should try.

Two-Minute Rule

One more thing that may be potent but works for me is the Two-Minute Rule. It is actually very simple: when a task takes less than two minutes, do it now. So underpinning it is small actions build momentum.

I first stumbled upon the Two-Minute Rule during a particularly busy period in my life. I felt snowed under with my to-do list and didn’t know where to start. Then I remembered this rule and decided to give it a try. So, I started tackling the smaller stuff: e-mails, cleaning my desk, and short phone calls. Every time I got any of those done, I would have that little sense of accomplishment and use it as motivation to keep going.

What I realized is that taking on these small tasks immediately helped clear away the mental clutter that was preventing me from focusing on the bigger and more important projects. Two-Minute Rule became a go-to for getting started, and with practice, I finally understood that often the most difficult part of a task is making the first move. So, if you’re staring into space at whatever this procrastinated-over task is, get going with the Two-Minute Rule. Look down your to-do list and identify a couple of things that will take you less than two minutes to complete. Do them now. And you will notice how much better you feel by starting to work this way.

Photo by Simon Hurry on Unsplash

Breaking Tasks Down into Smaller Steps

One of the main reasons we procrastinate is because we feel that the tasks in front of us are so gigantic or overwhelming. It’s really easy to just freeze and not understand exactly where to start when you’re staring down something huge. I can totally relate because I’ve been there many times, and one thing that has helped me a lot is to divide tasks into smaller, more manageable steps.

I remember once there was a huge presentation that I had to work on, and the mere idea of it was frightening. Eventually, I just procrastinated because I thought maybe I would start it tomorrow. But when tomorrow came, the presentation was still untouched. And that was when I resorted to breaking the project into little pieces. Instead of thinking about the whole presentation, I thought first to make the outline.

So, once I outlined it, I worked on the first section, then the second, and so forth. The project was thus broken down into very small parts so I wouldn’t feel overwhelmed. Each small thing I did seemed doable, and with each one, I felt more confident. What first seemed an insurmountable task turned out to be a series of small things I could do, which taken one at a time were progress. So if you have a big project that you just keep putting off, give it a try by doing just one part of the project now. Find the first step that you need to take in order to feel better and do only that; having done it, move on to the next. You break it into more manageable bites and build momentum as you go.

Deadlines (Set Very *Specific Deadlines)

Deadlines can be very powerful — but only if they’re realistic. I used to set my deadlines loose, thinking that because I had a general idea of when something should be completed, I had enough time. But, 9 times out of 10, those vague deadlines would drift past with little or no progress made. The problem with vague deadlines is that there’s no urgency, so you never create pressure for change. You can easily fool yourself into thinking you have plenty of time, then end up scrambling at the last minute. I learned this the hard way because I almost missed one deadline since it was creeping up. From that day on, I set very strict deadlines for each task I have. Instead of saying, “I’ll get this done by the end of the week,” I’m committing myself to a very specific time: 2 PM on Thursday. The deadline felt more real and kept me on track. If you procrastinate, do set deadlines. Divide the work into parts and decide at what time each part is going to be completed. Giving the work a time frame ensures you remain focused and driven.

Photo by Tungsten Rising on Unsplash

Implement Positive Reinforcement

Largely, one of the best strategies to beat procrastination is to give yourself small rewards for every step forward. Positive reinforcement is the key. That’s one thing that motivates me in how I would remind myself to push through some of my difficult tasks. In particular, I worked on a project that did not excite me much, and it seemed my procrastination was worse than normal at that point. As such, I put in place a mini-reward system for the purpose of maintaining motivation. After each hour of work, I would allow myself a little treat: a snack (a smoke maybe), a little break, or even five minutes of scrolling through social media. This really worked for me. The fact that I knew there was some small reward at the end of an hour always kept me on my task. It also made the work not seem as daunting; with every tick of the clock, something to look forward to waited on the other side. Positive reinforcement will do wonders when battling issues of motivation. Set those small rewards for oneself as he or she accomplishes work over time. Be it a treat or a break, knowing it’s there will help fight procrastination.

The Pomodoro Technique

The Pomodoro Technique is one time management technique that helped me get ahead of the postponement problem. The technique is to work for 25 minutes and take a rest of five minutes. After four “Pomodoros,” you take a longer break. I was able to use the Pomodoro Technique at that time because my schedule at work was cramped, as I had two major projects. I was, literally, almost drowning, and my productivity was quite low. The Pomodoro Technique helped me manage my time. That’s what I absolutely love about the Pomodoro Technique; it relieves one of the pressure of big tasks. Instead of thinking about the many hours ahead, you’ll only need to think in terms of 25-minute slots. This makes focusing way easier, with short bursts of work to be rewarded by a small break which spares one from being burnt out. One could get so much done with the Pomodoro Technique, particularly if focus has always been a trouble spot.

Just work for 25 minutes non-stop on whatever task you do, without any distraction. The alarm will ring, telling you it’s over, and then just take a 5-minute break and start your next session. It’s surprising how much you’ll have achieved after following this technique.

Now

Procrastination doesn’t have to control your life. Dig deep into why you procrastinate and use these five proven strategies to stay on top, moving in the direction of your goals.

And often the hardest part of the task is just getting started. But once you’ve taken that first step, momentum builds, and success follows. Use the Two-Minute Rule, break stuff down into baby steps, define your deadlines, celebrate interim victories, and learn to use the Pomodoro Technique. Each one can be an instrument to help you find your way out of the black hole of procrastination and into hitting your goals. Remember, you’re not alone on this journey. All of us procrastinate in many ways. Yet, we can overcome it by sharing our experiences and tips here (Thank You *Medium). Let’s support each other by taking action and moving forward.

Photo by Radoslav Bali on Unsplash

Now go one further. If you are serious about overcoming procrastination, choose any one of the strategies in this article and put it to work. Share your results in the comments so we can continue the conversation. Remember, you have the power to change your habits, and do it today!

--

--

Anthony C.
ILLUMINATION

Passionate about helping others discover their authentic selves and create the lives they deserve.