Productivity

The Only Productivity System That Works for Me

How removing unnecessary structure boosted my productivity

Oscar Leo
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

Like most people, I want to get more done in less time. For a long time, my “solutions” always included productivity systems like GTD, and I’ve tried every task management software on the market.

In my more ambitious experiments, I added time-monitoring software and hundreds of different tools that looked like solutions to my challenges.

I’ve read several books on the topic and even purchased expensive online courses created by fantastic teachers like Scott Young and Cal Newport.

But for some reason, it never works for me. I design these plans that are fantastic in theory, but I only manage to stick with them for a few days.

For a while, I gave up on the idea and thought that my lack of discipline was the problem (which it probably is to some degree).

But six months ago, I discovered what worked for me…

Here’s what happened

The change that led me to the right track was to stop doing any task management whatsoever. I uninstalled all productivity tools I had and started from zero.

--

--

Oscar Leo
ILLUMINATION

I ❤️ to analyze, refine, and visualize the internet's most exciting datasets.