The Orange Alien Planet

Science fiction… or the Republican Party

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

No, it hurts, the candlelight flickering by the bed is causing me delirium. I swear, there’s a pounding inside my head, like some animal trying to escape anyway it can, through my eyes, nose, and no matter which way I turn my head, inside the walls of my mind feel as if they are closing in, like someone suffering claustrophobia while lying alive in a closed coffin.

Doctor Biden shook his head. “So, what do you think, professor?”

Professor Leo looked at the questioner, noticing how his face looked ashen.

“What do I think? I think you already know my answer, Dr. Biden.”

The professor then turned away.

The doctor called out. “Wait, please. Are you saying he is doomed? That our race will not survive?”

The professor stopped, turned, “I’m saying that the walls of his mind are thick, held up by dust, battle weary, that would be how I describe this issue. Flick the switch, doctor, it’s over.”

The doctor wasn’t sure what would be worse, having the ability to change human behavior by taking away from the mind human thoughts of aggression, or the notion that removing such thoughts might result in humankind becoming nothing more than a harmless cult, vulnerable to alien…

--

--

Harry Hogg
ILLUMINATION

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2024