TRAVEL TALES | VIETNAM

The People of Vietnam

Navigating a Journey Through Smiles, Kindness, and Hospitality

Somil Gupta
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Vietnam Welcomes with Open Gates | All Photos by Somil Gupta.

Non-Medium members can read this article here!

Travelling the world has always been a dream of mine. I love exploring new lands, finding new things, and meeting new people, and I have a passion for exploring new currencies. Since I started travelling, my travels have often been driven by a desire to connect with the essence of a place to understand its soul. Over time, I have learned that engaging with locals and listening to their stories is the best way to achieve this.

Continuing my travel saga, I had the privilege of planning a trip to Vietnam with my friends. As my travel dates grew closer, I couldn't wait to see what this new country had in store for me and what I would learn there.

As soon as we stepped out of Saigon's Tan Son Nhat Airport, we immediately felt the warm atmosphere, friendly faces and rich culture. Our first contact with anyone in Vietnam was with our Grab driver on the way to our BnB. His pleasant manners and willingness to share tips, like the average cost of renting a moped in Saigon, places to go, etc., reflected the warmth that awaited us.

--

--

Somil Gupta
ILLUMINATION

Tech guy on a journey as a travel storyteller, curating travel itineraries and sharing global insights on cultures, people, and history. 🌍