30 Years Ago: A Look Back at How The Pepsi 349 Promo Ended in Riots

The aftermath of the biggest Pepsi promo also ended with five deaths

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION

--

Pepsi 349
Photo by Erik Mclean from Pexels

PEPSI 349

It has been 30 years since it happened. The promise of becoming a millionaire ended in tragedy.

Nobody wanted it to happen, not Pepsi and not the thousands of people who, on May 25, 1992, thought they won a million pesos or $37,000.

In 1992, I was in my 20s already. The Philippines, where I am from, was a very poor country. Six years after democracy was restored, the Filipino people had to fight hard to oust Ferdinand Marcos and his family in a peaceful people power revolution. I remember life was hard, and Filipinos' last chance of hope of a better life was by winning a million pesos from a Pepsi giveaway that turned dreams into a nightmare.

The Pepsi promo was simple.

Drink a Pepsi, win a million pesos.

Pepsi 349
Wikimedia

All you have to collect is the Pepsi bottle crown and match the numbers with the winning numbers, and you can collect your One Million Pesos.

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS