The Perils Of An Addiction To Travel

Why Do Some Folks Keep Moving, and Others Like To Stay Put?

Julie van Maanen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Drif Riadh on Unsplash

I’ve moved around so much in my life, no dust settles on me.

No, I’m not a diplomat, nor a global corporate employee, nor an international teacher.
I’m just a person who caught the bug and then, through necessity, made a career from it.

My travel bug began young

My Dutch mother took my father, sister and I from England to Holland every year to stay with her parents.
It was a long drive from the London suburbs to Dover port in the Austin Wolseley, with the suitcases piled up on the roof rack.

We whiled our time away, my sister and I in the back, fighting, playing i-spy, reading school books and chewing on Opal Fruits my mum bought for the journey.
The most fun we had was on the 90-minute car ferry crossing to France, where we went out on deck and enjoyed the breeze and ate Mum’s packed sandwiches (the restaurants were and still are a little pricey for what you get).

Author’s own

--

--

Julie van Maanen
ILLUMINATION

Top writer in Parenting. Multi-lingual traveller, writer, learner, teacher. Raising my little girl in Cuba and Europe and cannot wait to show her the world.