The Poetry Hustle!

Crafting Words with Rhythm and Soul

Marie Grace, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2024

--

A jaunt through creative expression

“Creative Expression,” Image by CANDICE CANDICE from Pixabay

In the quiet hustle of ink and paper, poetry finds its rhythm and soul
— Inspired by the creative process of poets everywhere.

Every morn
I grab
a book
snatch
some
slick
rhymes
from
them
old-school
lyricists
soak in
different
styles
free
verse
&
metered
miles
keeps
my
mind
piqued
inspiration
stoking
avoids
that
block
suffocating
then
it’s
write
time
forget
the
first
line
it’ll
come
together
sweet
wine
wacky
metaphors
bloom
like
“her
smile
sunbeam
piercing
trees”

might
craft
a
haiku
shortbread
succulent
or
bouncing
rhyming
couplets
can’t
be
beat
mixing
it
up
no
form
shirked
building
my
craft
this
poetry
work
make
words
sing
vowels
extend
harsh
consonants
repeated
till
ears
upend
when
verses
knot
a
muddled
mess
share
drafts
let
homies
assess
fresh
eyes
spot
what
needs
punch
cut
add
or
rearrange
crunch
seeking
themes
never
fails
the
sky
blue
my
girl’s
trail
observing
life’s
quirks
is
where
I
dig
unearthing
gems
to
build
my
little
gig
using
tools
like
metaphor
mixing
clichés
till
they
sound
fresh
&
weren’t
a
bore
end
of
day
poems
complete
read
out
loud
listen
for
the
blissful
beat
if
rhythms
off
or
lines
bizarre
tinker
fiddle
till
shining
like
a
star
but
most
of
all
I
grin
through
the
grind
‘cause
poetry’s
my
joy
treats
the
mind.

--

--

Marie Grace, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION

I fuse imagination with insight to captivate and provoke new perspectives to build a shared understanding through mindful written discourse.