The Poetry of Everyday

Nithin Adru
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2024

--

Photo by Gerrie van der Walt on Unsplash

Social media has poisoned us into thinking that having a 9–5 job is not so great and that you need to be the CEO of 20 different companies before you’re 30 to be deemed successful. But, unfortunately, that’s not the case. I firmly believe that there’s a beauty in the mundanity of everyday life, in the rut a lot of people, including myself, live in.

There’s beauty in doing the day-to-day chores, in washing dishes, doing laundry, walking down the street to your grocery store, and in riding the local train to get to your job. It’s these small, seemingly insignificant moments that truly define our existence and give it meaning.

You know how Haruki Murakami writes? He bores you with the details, the minor things. How the air smelt, how the traffic sounded like — man, he romanticized the heck out of life.

Imagine waking up in the morning. The soft, golden sunlight filters through the curtains, casting a warm glow on the room. I hear the faint hum of the city coming to life, the distant sound of cars passing by, the chirping of birds greeting the day. As I make my bed, the crispness of the sheets and the rhythmic motion of tucking them in bring a sense of calm and order to the start of my day.

In the kitchen, the scent of freshly brewed coffee fills the air. I take a moment to enjoy the simple pleasure of preparing my breakfast — the sizzle of eggs in the pan, the crunch of toast as I bite into it. These small routines, these rituals, ground me in the present and remind me to appreciate the here and now.

Walking down the street to the grocery store, I notice the familiar faces of my neighbors, the friendly nods and smiles exchanged. The aroma of freshly baked bread wafts from the bakery on the corner, and I take a deep breath, savoring the moment. These everyday interactions, these connections with my community, add richness to my life.

Riding the local train to work, I observe the world around me — the people engrossed in their books, the gentle sway of the carriage, the rhythmic clatter of the tracks beneath. I find beauty in the ordinary, in the shared experience of commuting, in the collective journey we all undertake each day.

There’s something profoundly comforting about the repetition of our daily routines. In washing dishes, I feel the warm water on my hands, the satisfaction of seeing a clean plate emerge. In doing laundry, the soft hum of the machine, the scent of fresh laundry, bring a sense of accomplishment. These tasks, though mundane, are moments of mindfulness, opportunities to be present and find joy in the simplicity of life.

We don’t need to be extraordinary to lead a fulfilling life. There’s immense beauty in the ordinary, in the rhythm of our daily existence. By romanticizing the small details, by finding wonder in the mundane, we can learn to appreciate the true essence of life.

So, the next time you find yourself caught in the rut of everyday life, take a moment to look around. Notice the details, the minor things, and let them fill you with a sense of awe and gratitude. There’s beauty in the everyday, if only we take the time to see it.

--

--