The Power of Taking Time Off

Why It’s Essential for Your Well-Being

Ashley Sole
ILLUMINATION
6 min readAug 1, 2023

--

Ayr Beach — Ashley Sole

A few years ago I went out for lunch with my Dad. We went to a BBQ restaurant on Carnaby Street in London. I was working just around the corner and managed to get an hour off work to meet him. We met outside the restaurant, got seated, and started chatting small talk. I mentioned that I had a week off coming up;

“I’m off work next week so I’m going to sort out my garden,” I said.

“Haven’t you just had a week off?” he responded.

“Yes Dad, I have just had a week off and I intend to have many more,” I said in a sarcastic kind of way.

“Living a life of luxury I see…” he says in a rather condescending tone.

“Indeed I am, why aren’t you?” I defiantly respond.

In my Dad’s view, he thought, you’ve just had time off work, what makes you need more time off? He’s of the same mindset as most of the people I know, that if you’re not working, if you’re holding down a job, then you’re letting everyone else down. He grew up in an era where you left school, got a job, and worked at it for forty years until you retired. There were no sabbaticals or early retirements, there wasn’t even much time off for holidays. It was a mindset of work work work, because, that’s what you do. No questioning of this norm, just strict adherence to the rules.

In that small conversation over lunch, I challenged that assumption. I challenged the need to work so much that all your time is spent in your job and that contribution can only be measured by the hours worked at your job.

Colleague Perceptions

Throughout my career, the same type of conversation has happened on numerous occasions. I tell colleagues that I’m going to take a week off, and it would go something like this…

“I’m off next week, let’s do some handover,” I say.

“You’re off again? You just had a week off.” my colleague responds. Here we go again I think to myself.

“I know, well I’m having another week off,” I say, growing weary of having this same damn conversation with people over and over again. What’s wrong with having time off?

“Cool. Going anywhere nice?” they ask inquisitively.

Going anywhere nice? Like you have to physically travel somewhere to justify having a week where you’re not working. Work is your life now in case you haven’t realized, school is over and you’re not 65 yet, so you better work constantly or you’re a goddamn failure. It’s like, you better have a damn good justification for not being here next week.

If I choose to have a week where I’m not working, then it has to be for some valid purpose, something that’s more important than being at work. It’s not like you can do anything else in your life.

All you are is a cog in this machine, a tax contributor to society, a money maker for this company…

Ok calm down Ash, they’re just making small talk I think to myself…

“No, just going to do some things around the home, a bit of gardening and such,” I say with a wry smile.

“Oh ok, a staycation, well enjoy,” they say, in a condescending tone, as if to say ‘Poor you, you can’t afford a real holiday.’

You can feel the judgment is real. As if to say ‘Here I am slaving away at this job and there you are taking weeks off enjoying your life, it’s a slap in the face’.

Of course, no one is actually saying that, but there’s an underlying tone of it, that it seems unusual to not work unless you have a good reason.

There’s an assumption held widely that you need to work consistently throughout your life, otherwise, you’re not a valid member of society.

Society Instills This

In today’s demanding work culture, it’s easy to get caught up in the daily grind, pushing ourselves to the limit in the pursuit of success. Amidst the hustle and bustle, we forget the significance of taking time off work. Whether it’s a short break, a mental health day, or a well-deserved sabbatical, the benefits of stepping away from your job are numerous and profound.

Society teaches us from a very early age that our role in life is to go to school, get a job and work till retirement. It’s widely accepted that getting a job is the way of life, staying at it for forty years or more. You earn your reward for this by way of a nice retirement in your mid to late 60s, a fitting prize for a life of contribution.

Taking a break is unconventional to not have a job like you’re somehow a leech on society. A pest that is bringing the rest of us down. The media scoffs at the unemployed, painting them to be a scourge on society. Politicians are constantly trying to generate more jobs for us so they can grow their tax receipts. Our family, friends, and neighbors judge one another based on the job that we have. It’s simply unfathomable to us that someone could not work. Your life should be one of service and the way to deliver that service is by getting a job and working hard.

Taking time off is necessary. It’s a superpower with immense benefits. Here’s why;

Reduced Stress and Improved Mental Health

Continuous work without proper breaks can lead to burnout, stress, and anxiety. Taking time off work provides an opportunity to decompress, relax, and engage in activities that bring joy and fulfillment. Whether it’s spending quality time with loved ones, pursuing hobbies, or simply unwinding, these moments of respite can significantly reduce stress levels and contribute to better mental health.

Increased Physical Well-Being

Long hours at the desk and constant work-related stress can take a toll on our physical health. Time off work allows us to prioritize self-care, giving our bodies a chance to rest and heal. Engaging in physical activities, getting sufficient sleep, and focusing on nutritious meals during these breaks can lead to enhanced physical well-being and a stronger immune system.

Strengthened Relationships

In the pursuit of career goals, we may unintentionally neglect our relationships with family and friends. Taking time off provides an opportunity to reconnect with loved ones and foster stronger bonds. Shared experiences and quality time together can create lasting memories and a support network that can positively impact both personal and professional life.

Increased Job Satisfaction and Employee Retention

Employers who encourage and support their employees’ time off see a boost in job satisfaction and employee retention. Knowing that they can take a break when needed fosters a sense of trust and loyalty towards the organization. Employees are more likely to remain committed and engaged when they feel valued and supported in their work-life balance.

Fresh Perspective

Time off work allows us to step back from our daily routines and engage in introspection. It’s a chance to reevaluate our goals, aspirations, and life choices. Reflection during these breaks can lead to personal growth, increased self-awareness, and a clearer sense of purpose, both in our personal and professional lives.

In Closing

There’s a famous anecdote attributed to John Lennon that says…

When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.

In a society that glorifies constant busyness, taking time off work might seem counterintuitive at times. But the benefits of regular breaks are undeniable.

Taking a break leads to a more fulfilling and successful life. As individuals and organizations, it’s essential to recognize and embrace the power of time off, allowing ourselves and others the space to recharge, grow, and thrive.

Prioritise self-care, normalize time off work, and make the most of these opportunities for a healthier, happier, and more balanced life.

--

--