The Power Of The Squeeze Page

Maximising Email List conversations

Lukman Aufbau
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 20, 2024

--

Photo by Kaleidico on Unsplash

Squeeze page is a very simple page with ONE goal: to convert your client into subscribers. I send all of my clients to a squeeze page, and when the visitors get there, they only have ONE option: give me an email address or leave. Now a certain percentage of people will leave, but the cool thing is that some of those people will give you a personal email address.

So, why should I design it? Because the squeeze page comes along with the value. One random word about people doing newsletters is: “Sign up to my newsletter and join our community of so-so-and-so+” Ideally, we would like everyone to subscribe to our newsletter, right? You want to serve your customers in the highest way possible.

But the sad truth is that if I were to scroll down to you on the internet and say, “Sign up to my newsletter and join our community of so-so-and-so+,” you would either laugh in my face or run away, thinking I was insane. Why is that? It’s because we just met, and so far, I haven’t provided you any value.

But if you came to my handle and saw that I was giving away a free book with my BEST Twitter growth strategies, and all you had to do was subscribe to my email to grab yours, do you think you’d subscribe?
If you’re in my target audience, you would — because you have a chance to receive some value in a non-threatening way, allowing you to see if you like the experience

Now, if you order that book from me and receive value from it, you will naturally want more. You’ll want to ascend my value and see if there are other ways I can provide value for you.

Let's say that you do NOT have a squeeze page, but you have some type of form that people use to subscribe to your site. Maybe there's an opt-in box in the right-side menu that says "Subscribe to my newsletter." That's not a very powerful way to convert your site visitors into email subscribers, so you might get only 3% of your visitors to subscribe to your list.

This means that each visitor is worth 36 cents to you in the next year. The math is simple: Since each subscriber is worth $12 per year and 3% of your visitors subscribe, it's a matter of .03 × $12 = $0.36.

Now, let's say you have a squeeze page. You are forcing your visitors to make a choice—either subscribe to your email list or leave your site. With a squeeze page, you're very likely to get a higher rate of conversion to your list. In this case, let's assume you get a 20% opt-in rate. That means each visitor is worth $2.40 in the next year. (Here's the math: .20 × $12 = $2.40.)

That means for every visitor you have, you are losing $2.04 by not having a squeeze page. You are getting only 36 cents instead of $2.40 per visitor.

Of course, this is hypothetical, and there are all kinds of different factors and variables at play here. But the fact is that in many cases, putting a squeeze page on your site is an instant win in terms of web site profitability.

One of the most important things that makes a squeeze page work is having a really strong opt-in offer. This is the ethical bribe that was mentioned earlier. Basically, this is the honey that you're going to offer your visitors on your squeeze page to convince them to opt in.

Getting your squeeze page right is really about getting the ethical bribe right. It doesn't have to be perfect the first time out, since this is another thing you can test very easily. But at the end of the day, the effectiveness of your squeeze page is very much dependent on the quality of your bribe and how closely it aligns with your avatar's hopes, dreams, and desires.

Here are some basic squeeze page templates that you can use as a starting point for creating your squeeze page.

Feel free to customize it according to your specific needs and newsletter niche style: Remember to keep your squeeze page concise, visually appealing, and focused on the most compelling aspects of your business!

Thank you!!!

If you’re looking to scale your newsletter, course, or membership — I’d love to help. We have room for 1–2 clients this quarter.

Respond to this email with what you’re looking to build or expand upon and I’ll send you a link to book a free strategy call

Did you know you can clap up to 50 times on Medium?

Find me on Twitter & LinkedIn

Your Support Matters!

I believe that good content should be FREE! Good content helps people learn and grow. I don’t want to hide my content behind a paywall and charge people for it.

If you’d like to support me in sharing high-quality content for free, you can visit my ☕ Ko-fi page and make a small donation at buymeacoffee.com/lukmanaufbau.

JOIN THE CREATOR’S SECRETS FORMULA AT LUKMANAUFBAU.SUBSTACK.COM I’ll give you a few tips on how to turn things around..

--

--

Lukman Aufbau
ILLUMINATION

Author of 'My Life On HackerNoon' Building my newsletter to $1M in revenue & sharing everything I learn.