The Prayer That Became America’s Bestselling Book

Bruce Wilkinson's The Prayer of Jabez sold 9 million copies

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION

--

The Prayer That Became America’s Bestselling Book. Man in prayer
Photo by Samuel Martins on Unsplash

We have yet to see the tail end of the pandemic this year. Millions have turn into prayer as a way to cope with what is happening in our world today, including myself.

I am one with you, that while I don’t consider myself religious, I have become more spiritual this year. When life overwhelms me, I turn into prayer. I recently added to my prayer, that everything will be, Ad majórem Dei glóriam,”, or “For the Greater Glory of God”.

Ad majórem Dei glóriam

The Prayer of Jabez: Breaking Through to the Blessed Life

I have this book since 2001, and I have forgotten about it, until a few months into the pandemic, let me share the verses from which the book got its title. The Prayer of Jabez.

1 Chronicles 4:9–10 KJV

And Jabez was more honourable than his brethren: and his mother called his name Jabez, saying, Because I bare him with sorrow. And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
ILLUMINATION

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS