Will It Be Back? The Rise And Fall Of Terminator: A Book Review

Tim Ebl
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 16, 2020

--

Killer terminating robot with pistol, pointing targeting lazer
Book Cover by Dave Holcomb, used with permission

It can’t be reasoned with. It can’t be bargained with … and it absolutely will not stop.

I’m a big fan of Terminator and Terminator 2: Judgement Day. These movies had a huge impact on me as a young adult. So when I discovered this book by indie author Dave Holcomb, I was all in!

Will It Be Back? The Rise And Fall Of Terminator is Dave’s second book. I also have a copy of his first, The Evolution of James Bond: His World Never Dies.

Dave Does A Deep Terminator Dive

I was surprised by all the good bits I never realized were in these movies. A lot more care and attention to detail than I would have expected for “just” action/science fiction blockbusters.

What is the Terminator franchise all about? What were the themes and ideas that director James Cameron used as core material? Mr. Holcomb gets right into those Terminator insides and roots around.

When I was a teen watching the first movie, I just knew that I was seeing some amazing stuff. I didn’t make the connections that were the foundation for this story, such as the fear of technology and artificial intelligence and the chance that technology will dehumanize us. There were a lot of clues and hints built into the first two movies, and…

--

--

Tim Ebl
ILLUMINATION

I help busy guys lose the dadbod, get their energy back and feel 20 yrs younger!. tim@simpleprimalfitness.com