Photo by Thomas Martinsen on Unsplash

Very generic way to gather attention

The rising popularity of pen spinning

Burning passion from the past three years

ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2024

--

From completing a rotation around the thumb, to a whole revolution of index to ring finger. Cartwheels in the air, to infinite loops on index and thumb.

For me, thumb spinning has come a long way. Or shall I say, a long spin.

The pen spins half as much as the times it falls from the hands of the person spinning it. There is no doubt that pen spinning is a skill in itself that attracts the attention of anyone around you.

People around you want to learn it, and if it is done perfectly; that’s no less than a trick.

It took me 2 years to get to the point where there are tricks I can pull off with absolute certainty that the pen won’t fall, and remain in my hand after completing the spin.

The amount of practice invested to come this far, is something anyone can copy, I believe.

In this corner of the world, it has become the new trend. There are at least 5–6 students in every classroom picking up their pens from the floor. Every 10 seconds.

And there are others, who are also learning how to make pens spin around their hands.

When I had started it, I’d seen someone do it in an anime clip on the internet. So, I decided to practice the skill.

Since then, this is my fourth year into pen spinning. From the simple thumb around to complex and attractive ones like double charge and sonic — I’ve surely come a long way in this field.

However, this has become a trend among the youth surrounding me. So, I’ve stopped learning new tricks. Pen spinning has benefited me in some ways, realistically, nothing to take a note of.

But long term disadvantages of this are surely worth knowing about. Assuming you are going to learn to spin pens, here are the pros and cons of the new age wizardly skill.

Pros —

  1. Attracts most people’s attention (if it’s not already a trend in your area).
  2. Good for socializing (people might ask you to teach them).
  3. Increases muscle memory of fingers (might have some effect on learning other skills relating to fingers)

Cons —

  1. Try to find your pen every 10 seconds (no one is pro from the start).

This one disadvantage continues till you become a pro in pen spinning. No matter how much you have practiced. No matter how many hours and pens you have lost in it; THE PEN IS BOUND TO FALL. So, don’t think you are getting nowhere, if your pen is continuously falling. It will always happen.

2. Might attack your boss/teacher/professor by throwing your pen across the office/classroom.

3. Continuous disturbance to your peers (they will have to pick up the pen for you).

4. Ink stops flowing due to continuous hits on the body of the pen.

5. Can’t sit on a desk without having a pen in your hand.

Either you agree with the pros or cons or both, let me tell you; pen spinning is a valuable skill for those who know how and where to show/flaunt it.

I’ve seen Ali Abdaal and Mrwhosetheboss spinning pens. Decide for yourself.

Sitting in front of my desktop, my keyboard was waiting for a few hits on itself from my hands. But I could not think of anything to write. I was wondering what to write about. It had been some moments. And then I looked at my right hand…

--

--

ILLUMINATION

There are only two groups of humans who understand people's emotions - psychologists and writers.