The Road Not Built:

Saving Sacred Lands — the Grand Staircase Escalante

Laurie Ure LICSW
ILLUMINATION

--

Scene of June Viavant in the 1970’s at Escalante Canyon
June Viavant at the Escalante Canyon in the 1970’s. Photo provided by Tim Viavant

I celebrate the action of President Biden to restore the monuments of Bears Ears and the Grand Staircase Escalante in southern Utah. For those who haven’t had the opportunity to experience these areas’ sacred and unique beauty, I share a personal account about why their preservation remains significant. My story includes the history of my aunt’s activism in the 1970s to stop a road, which remains central to the area’s remoteness today.

My Family’s History in Utah:

When I was nine years old, my father moved my family from Pittsburgh to Salt Lake City to live near his sister, the late June Viavant. Our families spent significant time hiking, camping, running rivers, and backpacking in southern Utah. My father bought a 4 wheel drive vehicle to access the very remote areas of the state.

My aunt loved the Grand Staircase-Escalante in particular. She spent years hiking and exploring this majestic region and became devoted to protecting it. My aunt loved the spectacular beauty of the unique red rock formations, waterfalls, arches, cliffs, and slot canyons carved through centuries, unique to the Escalante.

In 1996 (unfortunately after my aunt’s death), President Clinton declared the Grand Staircase-Escalante…

--

--

Laurie Ure LICSW
ILLUMINATION

Bioenergetic Psychotherapist. Passionately integrating body & mind in psychotherapy. Speaker, trainer, author. Email list www.laurieure.com, twitter @laurie_ure