The Rule That Taught Me to Stop Caring What Other People Think

Unsolicited advice and opinions are just a form of adult bullying

Tracey Folly
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2021

--

Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

Here’s the one rule I follow that taught me to stop caring what other people think: If you’re not paying my bills, then you don’t get a say in what I do with my life.

It’s just that simple.

Also, I always pay my own bills.

When I was a child, I was the victim of a lot of old-fashioned bullying: name-calling in the cafeteria, being threatened with a stick at recess and being held against my will behind the hedges in the courtyard. You know — the usual.

I have the unique experience of being a long-time advocate for the victims of bullying. I’m also knowledgeable about the various forms that bullying takes. Now, with all that out of the way, let me tell you what I especially hate: Adult bullying.

I had no idea that adult bullying would be even more prevalent and insidious than the torture I endured as a child. And the worst thing about adult bullying is that much of it comes in the form of unwanted, unneeded, and unsolicited “advice.”

Let me just say this. If you want to be successful, if you want to take control of your life, and if you want to get the most out of your…

--

--