The Sad Proliferation of Deceptive Sales Tactics

Straight from the school of cereal box university

David Andrew Wiebe
ILLUMINATION

--

The Sad Proliferation of Deceptive Sales Tactics
Photo by Lindsey LaMont on Unsplash

It’s sad.

Lately, it seems like everyone is flocking to cereal box university to get their sales permit.

The increasing desperation of so-called braindead influencers and hustlers is pity-worthy, if somewhat understandable, but only based on the general state of the world.

Even so, you can’t make a good case that their methods don’t throw good sense and caution right to the wind. Try.

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

Good luck building a long-term business on the back of methods that trick people into giving you money.

The “Post Your Links Below” Method

These posts are as common as flags on the fourth of July. I see them daily, and I wish I didn’t (I need to curate my newsfeeds better).

In big, bold letters accompanied by a colorful, eye-catching background they proclaim:

“We’re looking for music to showcase on our radio show (or podcast, or live stream). Drop your links below!”

Or something to that effect.

--

--

David Andrew Wiebe
ILLUMINATION

Empowering independent artists to share their passion, build devoted fan bases, and turn creativity into income.