The Shifting Stigma of Summer School

Why summer school is no longer just for the flunkers

Lena Ovechkin
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

We’ve all seen the stereotypical movies, where the outcasts or the jocks are failing high school, so they need to give up their precious summer to catch up or retake a course. But in recent years, as a high school student, I’ve found that this stigma is much less prevalent. Teens are taking summer school for different reasons, and failing is only one of those.

Summer School to Catch Up

I have to admit, that there are still students who take classes in the summer to catch up. Either they want to redo a course to get a better mark, or they need to take an extra course to be on track. There will always be a percentage of students who fall into this category, for many reasons.

Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

Maybe the last semester was a tough one, outside of school. Maybe they had a lot of activities going on. Maybe they didn’t care then but have realized now the work they need to put in to graduate on time. Many personal circumstances can lead a student to choose summer school to catch up. After all, this was the original aim of summer school — to help those who are behind.

Summer School To Get Ahead

On the other side of the academic spectrum, there are students, like me, who choose to take summer school of their own free will. Some of our classmates may not understand why we would want to give up our summer, but in January, when we have fewer diploma exams to worry about, they will wish that they too took summer school. Summer school gives students the chance to get ahead and take a course at the next grade level. For example, this summer I am taking grade 12 English and will write my two-part diploma in August. This will allow me and many others to have a lighter course load during the year.

Photo by Ben Mullins on Unsplash

One way in which it is clear that the intentions of many summer school students have changed is by looking at what courses are offered. My district offers courses for students starting grade 10 in the fall, meaning that those who have just finished junior high can take a high school course before they even start high school.

Summer School For Fun

Finally, there is a small percentage of students who take courses in the summer because they enjoy it. I am part of this small percentage. I’ve always been someone who enjoys school and having the opportunity to take classes year-round is something that appeals to me. The circumstances of this year have meant that I have already been sitting at home the past few months and, the way I see it, I might as well do something useful while at home. Even if I had no reason to get further ahead than I already am, I think I would still take summer school. It allows me to keep my mind sharp throughout the summer and spend my time doing some educational instead of watching Netflix.

Photo by javier trueba on Unsplash

Online Summer School

One factor that has contributed to the growing number of students who take summer school, is the introduction of online classes. This means that you don’t have to be in the city for a whole month of the summer to reap the benefits of summer school. All you need is a laptop and an internet connection to study online.

Photo by Avel Chuklanov on Unsplash

This is one method that has quickly become popular because you can choose what time of the day to do schoolwork, how often, and where to study. Online courses have become popular, and in my district, they typically fill up pretty quickly, even quicker than most in-person classes.

To sum up, summer school is no longer viewed as the drag it has always been portrayed to be. It is a place not only for those who need to catch up but also a place for those who want to get ahead. Teens are taking more responsibility for their schoolwork and using the resources provided to their greatest advantage.

--

--