The Silent Symphony

How Minimal Musical Consumption Changed My Life

Zai
ILLUMINATION
3 min readAug 15, 2024

--

Photo by Viralyft on Unsplash

Music is a universal expression of art, creativity, and the complex emotions we all experience.

In a world filled with varied feelings, music resonates deeply, making it a special part of our lives.

As a profound form of self-expression, music becomes a tool for conveying emotions and thoughts that words often fail to express.

It helps us deal with the pressures and expectations placed upon us by others or by life itself.

Many of us turn to music as a means of escape, immersing ourselves in sound to somehow forget the demands of life.

This escape can be comforting, but it also has its consequences.

Music Shaped My Unrealistic Expectations

Photo by Zarak Khan on Unsplash

While music had been a constant companion, I began to notice a change in how it influenced my thoughts and perceptions.

It wasn’t just an escape anymore; it started shaping my view of the world around me.

I realized that the music I consumed was feeding unrealistic ideals.

My mind was tricked into believing that life, and the people in it, should align with these idealized versions, leading to disappointment with reality.

With an active imagination and a perfectionist mindset, I found it increasingly difficult to accept the imperfections of life because of these ideals.

Music, once a refuge, became a catalyst for my unrealistic expectations.

The desire to control everything around me grew stronger, fueled by the music that echoed ideals of perfection.

When things didn’t go as planned, it led to frustration, anger, and a retreat into negativity.

Earbuds became a near-constant presence, providing a soundtrack to my life that I only paused for social interactions or moments at home.

Music was always there, influencing my every thought and mood.

Shifting My Music Choices Transformed My Life

Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Recognizing the impact of my musical consumption was the first step toward change.

Gradually, I reduced my reliance on music, seeking a healthier balance in my life.

Switching to instrumental and classical music brought unexpected benefits.

These genres helped restore my energy, offering a calming presence that allowed for reflection and introspection.

With this shift, I noticed a significant reduction in the time I spent lost in imagined scenarios.

My mind became quieter, more focused on the present, and less entangled in unnecessary daydreams.

Freed from the grip of constant musical escapism, I redirected my time toward more productive activities, like watching useful videos or engaging in hobbies that foster self-improvement.

No longer did I let music dictate my expectations of life.

This newfound clarity extended to my writing, where I discovered improved focus, concentration, and creativity.

As I stepped back from my musical habits, I began to hear the world anew—the rustling of leaves, the chirping of birds, the joy in people’s laughter.

I reconnected with the simple pleasures of the present moment that I had previously missed.

Finding The Harmony

Photo by Sandra Grünewald on Unsplash

This journey wasn’t just about changing my musical habits; it was about gaining a deeper awareness of the world around me.

The reward has been a more balanced, grounded life, where music plays a supporting role rather than taking center stage and almost ruining the life I thought I would lose.

--

--