The Simple (Kinda Hokey) Way I Use Eckhart Tolle in My Daily Life

It’s about WWED.

David Gerken
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Let’s get right to it. Here’s how I use Eckhart Tolle in my daily life. And again, as the title states, it’s a tad hokey. But I don’t care. It’s effective for me.

What I do is, whenever I find myself in a challenging, upsetting or uncomfortable situation, I ask myself:

“What would Eckhart do?”

So, there you have it. First, some background.

My path is about mindful living

I’ve done a ton of reading, studying and meditating over a wide gamut of spiritual traditions and concepts over this past decade. What it has all added up to is this: Being present, mindful and conscious is how I want to be. That is my life’s work now.

In all that studying, watching and reading, I’ve found nobody who embodies conscious presence more than Eckhart. That’s the reason I’ve spent countless hours watching his talks over the years.

It’s about Eckhart’s presence

The content of what he says rarely diverts from a few key concepts. But simply being in his presence, through watching him speak, speaks to the presence in me.

So when I get into those stressful situations what I’m really asking is,

--

--

David Gerken
ILLUMINATION

Meditation and Mindfulness teacher. Dad of three precious kids. Former writer for THE WEST WING. Follow me at davidgerken.net.