The Single Best Cure For Stress

Works every time

Jon Svec
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

I was stressed.

You ever get like that? Not from one big event, but from a bunch of little things piling up on top of each other, one by one?

It can create a sort of heaviness.

That’s where I was at.

Then the craziest thing happened.

Here’s the story.

The Printer

Things had been building for a few days.

Just little life stressors here are there, but they were starting to add up.

And then:

The printer incident.

I only had to print off one page.

But the freaking thing wasn’t working. All the lights were on. Everything indicated “all systems go”, but the page wouldn’t come out.

Normally, nothing major.

But that freaking printer almost put me over the edge.

I was not doing well.

The Evening

We had a football session that evening. I’m a coach.

It was our first time back out on the field after a long winter.

The players did their warm up and then we got right into it.

That’s when everything changed. The hour passed in a flash. I know I spent it shouting out instructions and coaching up the players. But in the moment I was just lost in it.

You ever been there? In the ZONE?

It’s crazy. Nothing like it.

All of a sudden we were wrapping up a great session.

In that hour we got better as a team.

I got better too.

The Drive Home

I walked back to my car, and I noticed it as soon as I sat in the driver’s seat.

A lightness.

I could feel my shoulders finally relax after days of being knotted up.

I knew it right away:

I was back to being myself.

I love coaching for a lot of reasons.

It’s satisfying to help players develop, to accomplish goals as a team, to work together.

But in my most honest moments, I must admit:

I coach for selfish reasons too.

I love it.

And if you’ve found something in your life that allows you to relate to this story? Don’t let it go.

Painting, swimming, riding a motorcycle, whatever.

Life’s too short. Do the things you love.

It really can be that simple.

--

--