The Social Dilemma Review

Why you should watch “The Social Dilemma” on Netflix today

Erwin Lima
ILLUMINATION

--

Image source: Erwin Lima (artist), www.lifebeyond.one

I watched “The Social Dilemma”, the documentary by the Center for Humane Technology and featuring Tristan Harris, yesterday. It taught me zero new things. I learned nothing that I had not already come across during my research for my latest book Life Beyond the Touch Screen. Or that I had not even incorporated in the book.

I was, however, very much inspired by the documentary.

[Oh wait, I did learn two new things. I learned about the role Facebook played and admitted it played in the Myanmar Rohingya Muslim violence. And that there is such a thing as Snapchat Dismorphia — a.k.a. kids seeking surgery to look more like their filtered selfies in real life. ‘Da hell.]

[Note: Tristan Harris, together with Nir Eyal and Yuval Noah Harari, has been one of my greatest inspirations for creating “Life Beyond the Touch Screen”. Nothing but respect. Read on to understand more.]

--

--

Erwin Lima
ILLUMINATION

Exploring and maximising human potential. I write about tech, marketing, writing, love, money, society; life. Find my newest book here: https://lifebeyond.one/