The Story of My Childhood is Made Up of ’80s Movies, Neon and Freedom

We may not be the Greatest Generation, but we had the coolest movies. And our playgrounds were better than yours.

Blake Lane
ILLUMINATION

--

The author and cousins on a teeter totter in the 1980s.
Neon deserves a comeback. My perm, not so much. Photo property of Blake Lane. Circa 1987.

It’s official. The ’80s is now the good old days. And it’s making a hell of a comeback. The IT remake is now set in the ’80s rather than the ’60s. The wildly popular Stranger Things series tricked my kids into thinking I was cool, or used to be cool, because I grew up in the decade that embraced neon fashion and perms.

Instead of rolling her eyes when I offer unsolicited fashion advice, my daughter’s eyes light up now when I offer my vintage Madonna concert T-shirt from her 1987 Who’s That Girl world tour.

My mom was horrified when my aunt and her friend showed up in nothing but a couple of spikey cones poking out from the opening in their black blazers to drop her three kids off the night of that concert. I was only 7 that year so I obviously didn’t go. The shirt was an attempt to keep my mom from mentioning my aunt’s wardrobe choice to her husband. My mom might have been religious, but she wasn’t a narc.

I had the coolest mom at St. Peter Catholic school. The kids in my class called her my bodyguard because she’d flex her muscles for them when she dropped me off…

--

--

Blake Lane
ILLUMINATION

Freelance journalist. Author. Mom. LA native. Animal rescue sucker. BlakeLaneWrites@gmail.com