The Story of The Beatles

To a scruffy young kid in Liverpool they were heaven sent

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readAug 17, 2020

--

Photograph by I.J. Portwine on Unsplash

Where can I begin to talk about the significance of the greatest rock n roll band in history ?

I could talk about their significance to Hamburg, Liverpool and London. To the United Kingdom, America and the rest of the world.

I could talk about their significance to music, culture, economics, politics, civil rights, world peace and social change the whole world over.

I could talk about how this hugely successful pop group changed things in oh so many ways. However, that would take a lifetime.

The best that I can do is talk a little about their significance to a deeply introverted, undernourished, skinny, scruffy, little poor kid who lived but two or three miles away from where the Beatles were born, brought up and lived.

It was 1963 and at nine years old I had shown not the slightest bit of interest in anything, let alone music. The Beatles and their hit single, ’She Loves You’, the biggest selling record in history, changed that forever.

I don’t really fully understand why that record resonated so deeply within me. I think a lot of it was to do with the sound…

--

--

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION

Author, writer, Illumination Editor, Top Writer in short stories and poetry.https://www.amazon.com/author/ryanobryan