The Striking Adverse Effects of Night Light Exposure on Mental Health

Insights from a recent rigorous/large-size study indicate that increased exposure to light at night increases the risk for psychiatric disorders (anxiety, depression, bipolar, PTSD, & self-harm).

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

--

Non-members can read this eye-opening story using my friend link.

Image designed by the author using photos of Bradley Hook & Andre Furtado from Pexels

In the early 1980s, I migrated from a sun-drenched country to freezing Germany, where I completed my informatics degree and joined a global organization as an information officer.

Despite my youthful enthusiasm and dedication to my profession, I grappled with the job's challenges and forging social connections, experiencing mood fluctuations. While some attributed my struggles to homesickness, others pointed to the stress of navigating a military environment as a civilian in a demanding workplace.

Fast-forward three decades to 2010, while living in Australia during the summer months, I was unexpectedly assigned to a short-term consultancy project in Copenhagen during winter. With Australia and Denmark experiencing opposite seasons, the abrupt transition posed an unexpected challenge.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com