Illumination Writing Challenge

The Superlative Stories of Timothy Key

The idea of “best” stories is subjective, but today these are my best!

Timothy Key
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 1, 2020

--

Just over a week ago, Dr Mehmet Yildiz asked us to compile a collection of our “best” stories in order to showcase our writing ability. Great ask, but not always so easy to do. Best is a subjective term, for sure.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz also interviewed me several weeks ago and, in that interview he asked for a selection of my favorite articles. In many ways, the ones that I chose for that piece are also my best, because they all represent turning points in my not-to-distant past, or values I hold dear. On that day, the pieces I offered were my best:

But meaningful is only one manifestation of “best”. Another way to evaluate our stories is how much value we obtained from writing the piece. Using that barometer, I chose a different set of five stories below to highlight my work.

--

--

Timothy Key
ILLUMINATION

Retired from fire service after 26 years. Writer and world traveler. I believe compassion, grace and gratitude are contagious and should be spread liberally.