Economics

The Thing Most Rich People Honestly Do Not Understand

A dollar means something different to everyone

Michelle Teheux
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readSep 10, 2022

--

Photo by Joshua Rondeau on Unsplash

A very long time ago, I had a friend who was an attorney married to a doctor. We met when she came to my house to rent a breast pump from the little home business I had 30 years ago, The Lactation Station.

Let’s call her Diana.

Diana and I hit it off, so we started going out for coffee.

But there was a problem.

Diana never carried any cash with her. I think she probably had a credit card on her, but if you can remember the 1990s, you know that coffee shops didn’t always take credit cards then.

So each time we went out, I paid for both of us. And after it happened multiple times, I let the friendship fade away.

I simply couldn’t afford it.

I am sure she had absolutely no idea that the cost of her fancy coffee could be a stretch for me, but it was. Paying for my own order was something I had to be careful to set aside money for. Covering hers meant dipping into the grocery money.

She knew I wasn’t wealthy.

--

--

Michelle Teheux
ILLUMINATION

Lover of literature. Former newspaper editor. Fascinated by everything. Contact: michelleteheux@gmail.com. To buy me a coffee: https://ko-fi.com/michelleteheux