Biography

The Third Grader Who Refused to Listen to His Teacher

How and why I became a writer

Jose Luis Ontanon Nunez
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readMay 10, 2021

--

Field of Dreams, Self-portrait by the author

Hello, My name is Jose Luis Ontanon Nunez. I’m here to tell you the story of a little kid so stubborn that he didn’t listen when other people told him he couldn’t do something.

I’m the seventh child of a family of eight brothers and sisters. My father was a fervent believer in the power of the elders. Hence, the older brother had absolute authority among the younger members.

As the seventh child, you could think that my younger sister would be at my command. Unfortunately, I found that she was my dad’s darling daughter at the age of four, which made her immune to my power.

And although she wouldn’t inherit the throne, she didn’t need it, for she ruled by his side from her highchair. Being the youngest made me responsible for all kinds of jobs, from switching the TV channel (I was the TV remote) or going to the kitchen for a soda.

Also, for answering the phone, taking the dog for a walk, cleaning after him, and rush back to fulfill the following command.

These were my first lessons in life about:

  • Politics, the chosen ones, rule over the rest
  • Equality, everybody is equal, but there are…

--

--

Jose Luis Ontanon Nunez
ILLUMINATION

Industrial Designer & Communication Coach. Dyslexia, History, & Trivia Writer. Father/Pet Lover — Top 1000 Writer, also on #Books, #Movies, #Reading & #Writing