Self-Improvement: Courage — #ILLUMINATION

The Time I Sold a Balloon Bicycle for $495.00

Or how to boldly ask for whatever you want.

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 18, 2020

--

Rasheed Hooda with Chris Guillebeau, and Cherie & Chris of Technomadia (personal collection)

When was the last time you made a ridiculously brave move?

Like trading a 15 cent balloon creation for $495?

Chris Guillebeau was in town to promote his latest book, $100 Start-Up.

It was in May 2012, but I had been following Chris on his blog Art of Non-Conformity since 2009. I had met him in person in 2010 during his first book tour.

The book was on display at the table where he would be speaking and signing copies. I noticed that the cover had a picture of a bicycle. I grabbed a couple of balloons and created the bike and set it in front of the book.

He hadn’t seen me do that, but when he came up to speak, he asked me if I had made it and thanked me for it. (My balloon business didn’t make it into his book because it didn’t meet the parameters he had set.)

Chris had also organized the World Domination Summit, a massive meet and greet for his tribe. I wanted to go to the sold-out event

After the meet and greet, I approached Chris and made him an offer. I would entertain his guests at the World Domination Summit if he let me…

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo