The Ugly and Uninformed American

The citizenship test failure rate don’t lie

William Mersey
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Library of Congress on Unsplash (Donald Trump! The presumption poster boy!)

If you ask me to define America’s citizenry in one word, presumption is the word I’d choose. On balance, Americans think they know everything when in reality, they know nothing. How do you think Donald Trump got himself elected president? He is the presumption posterboy. That’s why 48% of voters cast the ballot for him. Like them, he’s full of shit.

As you may or may not know (I won’t presume you’ve read anything else I’ve written), I cruise Yahoo News to find subjects upon which to pontificate. It’s really a wonderful cure for writers' block. There’s always something absurdly vapid in the presentation.

And today, I found a citizenship test on a site that claimed (and I have no reason to doubt the veracity of the statement) that 2/3rds of Americans score under 65% — and fail the sample citizenship test.

The test itself is comprised of 50 multiple choice questions with 4 different answers. Students of math will know that randomly guessing at the answers will give the test-taker a score of 25. So getting a 65 really shouldn’t be all that difficult, right?

I am not a great American, I think we can all agree. I promoted prostitution, didn’t pay my taxes, and served a year in prison for my indiscretions. But that…

--

--

William Mersey
ILLUMINATION

Daily Beast, NY Daily News, Daily Mail, Independent contributor. "In all matters of principle, it's the principle that matters." Just call me "Dollar Bill."