The Universe Always Has Your Back

Even when you think it doesn’t.

Gwen Irwin
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

I wrote an entire book that never saw the light of day, for somebody else.

I did not get paid.

I spent about a year working with this person, who I considered a spiritual teacher.

She asked for my support to get her work out into the world — to tell her story, help her promote it, and land speaking gigs. And then we would both reap the financial benefits to support ourselves and fund the project.

I flew across the country twice to meet with her, one time spending a very uncomfortable two weeks at her home, where she continued to change her mind on the direction of the book.

The second time I went I had the book just about complete, and while she flitted off to Mexico I stayed with her dog and finished putting it all together.

Only for her to come home and decide she didn’t want to do this project with me anymore.

Devastated, scared, and running out of money, I flew home.

Hey Big U!

We had this final push to get the book together because we had attended a Hay House writers conference, and as part of the deal they offered a contest to submit a book proposal, the top prize being a contract with them.

--

--

Gwen Irwin
ILLUMINATION

Author, blogger, Reiki Master, and Certified Holistic Health Teacher. medium.com/@geirwin/subscribe